This page introduces the core members of the PCAN team, which is spread across London, Leeds, Edinburgh and Belfast in the UK. Follow these links to meet our PCAN Associates and Fellows and to see members of the PCAN Advisory Group.

Professor John Barry (Co-investigator, Belfast)

John Barry is co-Chair of the Belfast Climate Commission and is based at Queen’s University Belfast in the School of History, Anthropology, Philosophy and Politics.

Jamie Brogan (Co-investigator, Edinburgh)

Jamie Brogan is Head of Innovation and Skills at the Edinburgh Centre for Carbon Innovation and leading the setting up of the Edinburgh Climate Commission 


Harriet Carter (Operational Manager, Grantham)

Harriet Carter is Operational Manager of the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment and PCAN 

Alice Creasy (Policy Fellow, Edinburgh)

Alice Creasy is a researcher at the University of Edinburgh and has joined the PCAN team as a Policy Fellow working on the Edinburgh Climate Commission.

Amelia Duncan (Research Fellow, Leeds)

Amelia has joined the PCAN team at the University of Leeds as a Research Fellow in Urban Climate Action, working with Andy Gouldson as part of Leeds Climate Commission.

Professor Sam Fankhauser (Principal Investigator)

Sam Fankhauser is Professor of Climate Change Economics and Policy at the Smith School, University of Oxford and Research Director for the Oxford Martin Initiative on a Net-Zero Recovery. He leads the Place-Based Climate Action Network.

Professor Andy Gouldson (Co-investigator, Leeds)

Andy Gouldson is Chair of the Leeds Climate Commission, which he founded in 2017, and Director of the Yorkshire and Humber Climate Commission. He is based at University of Leeds, where he is Professor of Environmental Policy.

Margo Hanson (Secretariat Co-ordinator, Leeds Climate Commission)

Margo Hanson keeps the wheels of the Leeds Climate Commisson turning as Secretariat Co-ordinator and provides administrative support for the PCAN activities in Leeds.

Rosanna Harvey-Crawford (Communications support, Edinburgh)

Rosanna is a Project Officer at ECCI and provides communications support for Edinburgh Climate Commission as well as research support to the Policy Fellows

Teresa Hill (Climate Action Support Worker, Belfast)

Teresa Hill works with Amanda Slevin and John Barry, providing administrative and organisational support for Belfast Climate Commission and PCAN in Belfast.


Dr Candice Howarth (Senior Policy Fellow, LSE)

Dr Candice Howarth is a Senior Policy Fellow at the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment leading PCAN activities.

Dr Dan van der Horst (Co-investigator, Edinburgh)

Dan van der Horst is a Senior Lecturer in Environment, Energy and Society at the School of Geosciences at the University of Edinburgh.

Kate Lock (Policy and Communications Officer)

Kate Lock does communications and engagement for PCAN and also the Leeds Climate Commission. She is based at the University of Leeds.

Jo Miller (PCAN Administrator)

Jo Miller is Institute Administrator at the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment and is PCAN Administrator.

Simon Moore (Communications Officer)

Simon works across a variety of communications channels to promote the work of PCAN and the Yorkshire and Humber Climate Commission. He is based at the University of Leeds.

Sabrina Muller (Policy Analyst - Sustainable Finance)

Sabrina has joined the PCAN Finance platform to work on sustainable finance policy with a particular focus on a just transition in developed and developing countries

Dr Alice Owen (Co-investigator, Business Platform)

Alice Owen is a Professor in the School of Earth and Environment at the University of Leeds. She has extensive experience of working in the private and public sectors and is business lead for PCAN.

Professor Nick Robins (Co-investigator, Finance Platform)

Nick Robins is Professor in Practice – Sustainable Finance at the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at LSE. He leads the PCAN platform on finance.

Dr Amanda Slevin (Policy Fellow, Belfast)

Dr Amanda Slevin is a PCAN Policy Fellow with the Belfast Climate Commission and Co-Director of the Centre for Sustainability, Equality and Climate Action, Queen’s University Belfast.